June 22, 2016

83 Peel board schools earn Ontario EcoSchools certification

​The Peel District School Board is proud to recognize 83 of its schools that have received the platinum, gold, silver or bronze EcoSchools certifications, recognizing work that was completed during the 2015-16 school year. Of these schools, Derry West Village and Ridgewood public schools and David Suzuki Secondary School have all achieved platinum-level certification, a significant achievement. Certified schools will receive a recognition toolkit to celebrate their success.

"Becoming a certified EcoSchool is a major achievement—it requires the entire school community to work together," says Tracy Appleton, EcoSchools program leader with the Peel board. "Through the program, students work with staff and community members to develop strategies to conserve energy, reduce waste, green their schoolyard, and develop environmental literacy. To see our students empowered to affect positive change in their schools and communities as environmentally responsible citizens is truly inspiring.”

Schools take part in a wide variety of activities and actions when they take part in the EcoSchools program. Some of the activities around the Peel board last year included recycling programs, energy conservation, garden beds, tree planting and other environmentally conscious actions.  

The recognition toolkit includes: 
  • EcoSchool plaque and seal
  • letter from Peel board’s Director of Education, Tony Pontes
  • letter from the mayor of their city
  • metal sign to hang on the outside of the school building
  • resources for teachers to continue their work of embedding environmental education into their lessons 
The EcoSchools program enables schools to bring to action the messages contained in the Ministry of Education Environmental Education Policy Framework (2009) entitled Acting Today, Shaping Tomorrow: A Policy Framework for Environmental Education in Ontario Schools. Schools also use this program to support their School Success Planning initiatives and environmental education links to the curriculum. Also, it has been shown that EcoSchools generate less waste and reduce energy consumption.

Support for the EcoSchools program has been provided by the Peel board, the Region of Peel and Toronto and Region Conservation.

Full list of schools receiving certification for work in the 2015-16 school year

Platinum Certification
David Suzuki Secondary School
Derry West Village Public School
Ridgewood Public School

Gold Certification
Artesian Drive Public School
Beatty Fleming Senior Public School
Burnt Elm Public School
Camilla Road Senior Public School
Castle Oaks Public School
Castlebridge Public School
Castlebrooke Secondary School
Castlemore Public School
Conestoga Public School
Eagle Plains Public School
Edenbrook Hill Public School
Edenwood Middle School
Erin Mills Middle School
Goldcrest Public School
Gordon Graydon Memorial Secondary School
Humberview Secondary School
Judith Nyman Secondary School
Lincoln M. Alexander Secondary School
Lorne Park Public School
Louise Arbour Secondary School
Marvin Heights Public School
McKinnon Public School
Meadowvale Village Public School
Mountain Ash Public School
Oscar Peterson Public School
Owenwood Public School
Parkway Public School
Peel Alternative School - North
Riverside Public School
Roberta Bondar Public School
Sir Isaac Brock Public School
SouthFields Village Public School
Stephen Lewis Secondary School
The Woodlands School
Treeline Public School
William G. Davis Senior Public School
Williams Parkway Senior Public School

Silver Certification
Alloa Public School
Aylesbury Public School
Caledon East Public School
Cawthra Park Secondary School
Centennial Senior Public School
Clarkson Public School
Copeland Public School
Countryside Village Public School (holding at James Grieve Public School)
Fernforest Public School
Glendale Public School
Gordon Graydon  Senior Public School
Hanover Public School
Hilldale Public School
Ingleborough Public School
Janet I. McDougald Public School
Kingswood Drive Public School
Lancaster Public School
Larkspur Public School
Levi Creek Public School
Macville Public School
Massey Street Public School
Nelson Mandela Public School
North Park Secondary School
Peel Alternative School - South
Queen Street Public School 
Queenston Drive Public School
Sandalwood Heights Secondary School
Shaw Public School
Sheridan Park Public School
Sir John A. MacDonald Senior Public School
Somerset Drive Public School
Sunny View Middle School
Terry Fox Public School
Thomas Street Middle School
Trelawny Public School
Whiteoaks Public School

Bronze Certification
​Aloma Crescent Public School
Beryl Ford Public School
Churchville Public School
Clarkson Secondary School
Glenforest Secondary School
Homelands Senior Public School
Sir William Gage Middle School

Find Your School